My First Note

Dear Dad,
I’ve had this idea for a very long time and it’s taken me some time to actually “put it into action.” I hope this is one of many Notes I send to you, but I had to send this one first…

Remember when I was in middle school and I had to decide what classical instrument to play? We went to a rehearsal of the NY Philharmonic and watched a them play Beethoven’s Ode to Joy and you pointed out to me the First Violinist and how important they were to the conductor. You wanted me to play violin and I choose clarinet because the boy I had a crush on picked clarinet and I dashed your hopes of ever being a first violinist …

Well Maddie had her first concert this holiday season. She’s only 11, but ohmygosh Dad, you’d have been so proud. First, she was playing the violin, and second, she was so confident and in command of her instrument. It was very cool. Their teacher took them through a dog and pony of techniques and such and showed us parents how well they had mastered some of the fundamentals. But it was the next part that took my breath away. The teacher then got the entire string section ready and they commenced to play, what else, Beethoven’s Ode To Joy. And it was fantastic. And I felt you smile and beam and almost relish this moment. And then I felt sad and empty because I wished you could be next to me and she could have seen you, met you, knew you and felt the pride I knew you would have showered upon her because you did with me. And then the concert ended and every parent was on their feet and I was so overjoyed by her accomplishment, and I knew I had to find a way to tell you.

Love,
me.

RELATED LINKS:
See My Notes
What is Notes to Heaven?
Leave your own Notes

One comment on “My First Note

  1. […] work, but I knew  I  wanted to have access to for my own needs and self-expression.  I wrote My First Note in January of 2012 and set-up an area for others to Leave Your Own Notes and thought others would […]

Share Your Note or Comment

